International Conference on Communication in Healthcare 2018

Home Programme Register Awards Sponsors Useful Information


Welcome message from 2018 ICCH Organisers

We are proud and excited to invite you to participate in the 16th International Conference on Communication in Healthcare (ICCH) organized by EACH: International Association for Communication in Healthcare in partnership with ACH: Academy on Communication in Healthcare. The conference will be held in the beautiful and historic World Heritage site coastal city of Porto, Portugal, known for its stately bridges, medieval architecture and port wine!

This international conference brings together teachers, researchers, practitioners and policy makers from around the world working to explore and improve all aspects of communication in healthcare from a variety of perspectives. The conference itself will set a friendly and communicative atmosphere for highlighting best practices and innovations in the field, exchange of ideas and networking. In addition to traditional presentation formats such as oral and poster presentations, symposia and interactive workshops we will include sessions on works in progress, innovative and creative formats, roundtable discussions and national, language and discipline based networking sessions. Participants will be challenged by our plenary speakers into considering new ideas in assessment, research, policy, and patient engagement. Special programming will be aimed at engaging the next generation of academics, practitioners and policy makers in communication in healthcare, students and other trainees.

We are especially pleased to offer a conference dinner at the elegant Palácio da Bolsa included in the registration price so all can attend.

We look forward to seeing you next September in Portugal, Obrigado,

Marcy Rosenbaum (Programme Chair), Elizabete Loureiro (Deputy programme chair and local host), Evelyn van Weel-Baumgarten (EACH President) and the Porto ICCH Planning committee.


FEUP – Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto
Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, s/n
4200 – 465 Porto

Conference Planning Committee

Marcy Rosenbaum – Chair of the Planning Committee
Elizabete Loureiro – Deputy Chair of the Planning Committee & local host
Evelyn van Weel-Baumgarten – EACH President
Sara Rubinelli – EACH President-Elect
Jonathan Silverman – EACH Past President
Peter Martin – pEACH Chair
Myriam Deveugele – rEACH Deputy Chair
Geurt Essers Incoming – tEACH co-Chair
Danielle Blanch-Hartigan – yEACH representative
Lode Verreyen – EACH Networking Chair
Auguste Fortin – Past ACH President
João Teles – Student representative
Fiona Whitelock – SAS Event Management